Govassure serves as the cornerstone of the UK government's information assurance strategy, offering a standardized framework to assess and mitigate risks across various departments.

GovAssure is orchestrated through a methodical five-stage process designed to ascertain and uplift the cyber-security measures within an organization.

Stage 1: Mapping Organisational Context for Essential Services
In this initial phase, the organization embarks on a mission to discern its essential services. It's a strategic endeavor to comprehend the unique operational landscape, which is instrumental in shaping the scope of the GovAssure assessment. This tailored approach ensures that the review is both relevant and efficient. (Ownership: The Organization)

Stage 2: Identification and Categorization of In-Scope Systems
During the second stage, the organization's focus shifts to the critical systems that underpin the delivery of key services. It's about establishing clear system boundaries and assigning a CAF profile — either Baseline or Enhanced — in accordance with the system's significance and exposure to potential threats. This classification is pivotal in determining the intensity and nature of the assessment that follows. (Joint Ownership: The Organization and the Government Security Group)

Stage 3: Conducting a CAF Self-Assessment
Here, organizations engage in a comprehensive self-assessment against the backdrop of the CAF Guidance. The process includes a comparative analysis against other frameworks and assimilating evidence that epitomizes good practice — providing a reflective insight into the organization’s cybersecurity stature. (Joint Ownership: The Organization and the Government Security Group)

Stage 4: Independent Assurance Review
An independent assurance review is paramount in validating the self-assessment. This stage is anchored by assessors who are not just neutral but also comply with the highest standards of security and assurance — injecting credibility into the process. (Joint Ownership: Independent Assurance Reviewer, The Organization, and the Government Security Group)

Stage 5: Comprehensive Assessment and Development of an Improvement Plan
The finale of the process is a comprehensive report that not only evaluates the organization’s cyber-security alignment with the CAF profile but also provides a directional blueprint for enhancement. It’s a cornerstone document for fostering informed investment decisions and driving strategic cyber-security initiatives. (Ownership: Independent Assurance Reviewer, The Department, and the Government Security Group)

ProCheckUp Engagement lifecycle

Procheckup utilises a standard engagement model for all engagements which is defined below: -

Offering - Activities that take place before the execution of a consultancy assignment:

  • Pre-sales and identification of client needs;
  • Creation of an agreement, typically covering: - Context of the work - Services and deliverables - Approach and work plan - Roles and responsibilities. 

Execution - Delivery of the services agreed at the offering stage to satisfy the client:

  • Refining the work plan;
  • Implementing the agreed work plan;
  • Assignment of staff, management and mentoring;
  • Approval and acceptance. 

Closure - Activities that take place at the end of a consultancy assignment:

  • Final client evaluation and agreement that the service has been delivered;
  • Conclusion of obligations;
  • Finalising payment;
  • Any subsequent improvements to the service.


Please contact us for more information on how ProCheckUp Gov Assure Assessment can help you.

Need Help?

If you have any questions about cyber security or would like a free consultation, don't hesitate to give us a call!

+44 (0) 20 7612 7777

Our Services

Keep up to date!

Subscribe to our newsletter. Keep up to date with cyber security.